Item No. 0388680

Photo of Command Utility Hook, General Purpose, Holds 5 lb 1 hook

Command General Purpose Utility Hook - 1 ct

$4.49

Availability: Usually ships in 1 business day

Details

Hang your things quickly and easily with these Command Utility Hooks. Enjoy damage-free hanging with the hook that holds strongly and removes cleanly. Hang your purse, umbrella, towels and more with the convenient hook that holds up to five pounds. You can reuse the hook by removing and simply applying a new Command large strip to the back. Package contains one hook and two large strips.

Features & Benefits:

  • Damage-free hanging
  • Holds strongly
  • Removes cleanly
  • Easy to apply and remove
  • Works on a variety of surfaces
Reviews
Command General Purpose Utility Hook - 1 ct is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 420.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love as long as I don't have to take it down These work great - in a house that we recently left, I had command hooks of all kinds, including these, all over the house for various things. I love that I had ways to organize and hang things relatively inexpensively. What I don't like, though, is the removal process. Almost every time I pulled down on one, the strip would snap and break and I'd have to try again. When I finally got the right angle, I had to shield my face from being hit when the plastic hooks finally were released from the wall. Be sure not to have anyone else around as they do go flying and not so gently. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2013-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Large Hooks I have been using these hooks for six years. I use them to hang clothes on them. I also have a clock hung on them. My granddaughters hand and foot prints and for other things. These hooks are great. I have moved them and changed where they were placed and they still held up wonderfully. They are the very best thing to hang things on. They have never let go on their own. They perform exactly as it says they will. Living in an apartment it is wonderful to be able to put things on the wall without worrying about damaging the walls. I am so happy to see the new heavy duty ones. I cannot wait to get them and see how they work.
Date published: 2011-04-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I keep trying with the same result This is about the third time I have been sucked into buying the Command Brand hangers, this time the idea was to use the "large hook" to hang a large but relatively light weight Christmas decoration. However, just as it has happened every other time, the hook fell off the wall minutes after my lovely wife hung the decoration. Assuming that, in the past, I had rushed the installation or otherwise did something wrong, this time I specifically made sure that I followed the instructions exactly and read all of the fine print before starting. No luck once again, and this is the LAST TIME I will ever purchase these hooks again. I advise anyone considering them to forget it. It isn't worth the frustration. It's a worthless product and a waste of money, in my experience.
Date published: 2013-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extra closet Space Both of my nephews attended college this pass year and with the living space and especially closet space being as limited as it is,they made a lot of use out of the Command Large White Hooks. I put these hooks in with their Christmas presents and both of them thanked me over and over for them.They helped keep their rooms "clutter " free!! And it was so much easier than having clothes all over the floor.And the large hooks are REALLY strong! They all stayed put and if they decide to move ,they can take them with them without leaving a mess on the wall. Thanks 3M for continuing to make wonderful and reliable products.
Date published: 2011-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Curtain Rod Holder I had to hang a temporary room divider curtain but I didn't want to use anything that would damage the walls. I took the large Command hooks and place them on the back side of the soffit then put a curtain rod pole on them. PERFECT! When I left two months later I took them down with no problems and no marks. What I also love is the fact that I can use them again with the additional strips that came in the package. Now to find a new use for them.
Date published: 2016-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am impressed (not usually impressed by much!) As my "review title" states, I was quite impressed with the Command hooks and I am usually NOT impressed by many products. 1. They were very easy and I could actually put them up myself! 2. They look nice, very clean looking and they did their job and are holding well. 3. Thought they were rather pricey when I bought them (first time user) but they are "earning their keep" and I will admit they are worth it! Lol! My only complaint is that I cannot find all the cool products that you have in the website where I live. Like the Key Rails, very cool and very attractive.
Date published: 2015-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Celebration Banners My granddaughter was being Bat Mitzvah in a venue that was not the synagogue. We wanted to be able to hang decorations that symbolized the tradition and occasion, but were not allowed to nail anything to the walls. I created three 3x18 foot long banners, all in Hebrew Script, that were to hang from decorative rods. These were hung behind the podium using 3M Command hooks. They were easy to hang, and of course to remove. They supported the banners perfectly. They blended with the walls and were nearly invisible. What a wonderful product! I now use these hooks to hang everything in my home and classroom as well.
Date published: 2010-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THIS PRODUCT IS WONDERFUL MY DAUGHTER HAD RECENTLY PURCHASED A NEW HOME AND HAD A NEW BABY . SHE PURCHASED THE HEAVY DUTY BLINDS! SHE PURCHASED THE DOUBLE HOOK AND PLACED IT INSIDE THE WINDOW SEAL TO WRAP THE CORD AROUND , SO HE COULDN'T PULL THE BLINDS DOWN ON HIMSELF.IT WORKS PERFECTLY AND EVEN BESIDE THE COLD WINDOW PANE . THEN SHE PURCHASED THE LARGE HOOK PLACED IT ON THE WALL BESIDE HER CHANGING TABLE,HUNG THE DIAPER HOLDER ON IT AND IT HOLDS UP PERFECTLY, AND BELIEVE ME WE FILL THE DIAPER HOLDER UP !I WOULD TELL EVERYONE TO TRUST THIS PRODUCT TO HOLD YOUR MOST VALUABLE PRODUCTS ITS BEEN HELPING MY DAUGHTER FOR OVER A YEAR NOW :))
Date published: 2011-01-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed - didn't hold up My daughter's high school locker was missing all the hooks to hold up jackets, etc. This was not working well organization wise, so my husband went to the store to purchase some adhesive hooks - "make sure you buy 3M brand" I told him, "they always have good quality items". Well I was wrong about this one - my daughter even took rubbing alcohol to school with her to clean the sides of the locker and she followed directions. All the hooks (we bought a package of 3) fell off within a day - they could not even hold up an empty backpack. Very disappointed.
Date published: 2013-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome....no need to say more.... I love these hooks....Command hooks are like an obsession with me. Once I started using them I had to go get more. It is amazing how much this hooks will do all around the house. From hanging pots & pans, bathroom hand held mirror, towels (bath and kitchen) dog leash...and on and on...the even best part is if I decide to move one it is so simple and easy to take it down with no worries about ruining the spot where I just took it down from and simply putting it up in a new place. No screws, holes or hammers needed. Thank you for this wonderful product. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2012-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from vacation use When we travel to Europe we always take Command hooks with us becuse European hotels, hostels and B&B's don't always have spacious closets to store clothing. The Command hooks come in very handy as we travel from place to place because they can be used over and over. We also spend time at fishing resorts staying in cabins which hardly ever have adequate storage for clothing and towels that are in use. Command hooks are a welcome convenience because they can be removed and taken with us when we leave. The Command refill packet helps also because by purchasing this product we can use the hooks forevedr.
Date published: 2010-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Command Hooks for Pantry I have had the large Command hooks in my walk-in pantry for over 2 years. They hold my broom, leashes, dust pan, grilling tools etc. They have stayed on, hold a lot of weight and keep all these itmes off my shelves and floor, creating tons of "vertical realestate". I also have large baskets hanging up high from the hooks, as I use these items about 2 times a year, and need them out of the way due to their large size. I started using Command products after building our new home, and did not want to poke holes into the drywall. Awesome product, on my way to go buy many packs for my college-bound son.
Date published: 2011-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from hooking cruise I just completed a 42 day cruise half way around the world and I took the large command hooks with me. Since you are limited to space in a stateroom on a ship the large command hooks came in so handy. I used them to hang my gown & robe on when not needed. I also used them in the bathroom to hang my washcloth and back brush on when not in use. And when the cruise was over I could take them down without any problems and they tucked away so easily in my luggage. I would highly recommend using them on a cruise ship or in a summer cabin or beach house. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2013-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Command hooks Used them outside for decorations this year. Nothing fell, even with one of the coldest Decembers on record and an unheard of White Christmas in Eastern Virginia. We also had high winds buffeting wreaths and garlands. Everything held even with the weight of snow and ice and those garlands had lights on them too. I am so pleasantly surprised and now know I have the flexibility to change my decorations each year instead of having to use the same holes in order to not make more. Wish I had tried them outside long ago. I always use them for my inside decorations and hanging jobs. Wow! What a product!
Date published: 2011-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Large hooks In 2007, my husband & I went on an extended camping trip in an old travel trailer. We needed a place to hang up our clothes so when we were at the store, I saw the Command hooks. I bought 2 of the large hooks and put them up in the camper bathroom. At night they held jeans, and a shirt. During the day, a full length robe and sleepwear. Living in a northern climate, I thought that the hooks would have fallen off the wall with the winter moisture but from the day I put them up until now they are still hanging there like the first day I hung them! These hooks are absolutely fantastic! I LOVE them.
Date published: 2010-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Large hooks ease Christmas stress For the 30 years that we've been in our home, we've always suspended two 30-inch wreaths on the balconies on either side of our fireplace. We've always used either string to hold the wreaths in place so the wood on the bannister would not be damaged. Then I discovered Command Hooks!!! My husband thought I was brilliant when I simply attached two hooks to the bannister, and the two wreaths remained suspended throughout the season. However, the best part was when we dismantled the decorations and removed the hooks, not a scar on the wood was visible!!! Thank you Command Hooks. We're sold on you!!
Date published: 2010-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hangs around forever, and I like that! I don't believe there are enough positive descriptive words for Command general purpose hooks. I use them to hang pictures, posters, skateboards, heavy wall art, bulletin boards, dry erase boards.....well I've named most of the stuff in my house! I love that this product is so simple to use and simple to remove. A quick measure, add the strip to the back of the hook, press, and hang! The removal process is just as simple: pull tab down until the hook "pops" off the wall. From a renter's perspective, thank you for this product because you've helped me get my deposit back every time I've moved!
Date published: 2011-10-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from DISAPPOINTED! Honestly, I've never been so frustrated and disappointed with any product in my entire life. I put up a command hook to hang a less than 1 pound wall scroll. It fell after a day. I cleaned the wall, and put up a new one. It fell within a few hours. Put up another one, waited for it to set over night, hung the scroll. It fell within two hours. Heated the wall with a blow dryer (since my room is cold), put a new hook on, hung the scroll, FELL YET AGAIN. I followed every direction to the letter and nothing has worked. When I barely followed the directions (my first attempt) it actually stayed the longest. I kept giving the hooks the benefit of the doubt, but I'm just out of options. They simply don't work. Waste of money!!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2013-08-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mixed Emotions I bought I number of these hooks for my dorm this past year. They worked well with small items such as my keys and jewelry, and they also came off clean, which was excellent. However, they repeatedly fell off the wall, and couldn't take the slightest weight (i.e. a towel, or even a hand towel, my wallet). I know there is a weight limit, but they couldn't even withstand weights close to it. (And yes, all directions were followed in the application of the hooks.) [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2012-07-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do not use on painted surfaces! I bought several of these to distribute the weight of a 9' Christmas garland draped over a kitchen doorway. I carefully followed the instructions for both application and removal. Upon removal (and yes, I followed instructions to the letter), these removed the paint and damaged the underlying plaster. Once this damage is repaired I will never use these again...
Date published: 2017-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Christmas use We started using the Command hooks last year to hang our wreaths on the outside of our windows. We first had trouble with the garage windows because of the cold. My husband heated the window with a hair dryer before putting on the hook and it worked like a charm. All the rest were OK because they were on windows in the main house where the interior heat helped them stay in place. They came off as advertised and held our wreaths perfectly, so much easier than using our old methods of threading fishing line through the window and attaching it on the inside with a thumbtack.
Date published: 2010-11-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very disappointing I bought a number of command hooks- the small the medium, the large and the jumbo. I was really excited. I was finally going to organize my apartment. I would say that 90% of the hooks I put up fell right down. I was within the weight amount and yet, they couldn't hold anything. I must have spent hours putting up the hooks (yes I followed all directions). Some hooks came down within a few hours, some within a few days, and some after a few months. But 90% were not good. I was so disappointed. It was a waste of money and time. I had one up in the bathroom to hold a tiny little potty seat to put over the toilet. It fell down. I had one in the hall to hold coats and it fell down. And anything I used for the heavier ones didn't work at all. Very disappointing. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2013-06-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Do NOT use to Hang Pictures!!! I see quite a few of you use these for picture hanging. I found out the hard way -- via broken glass and gouged floor! -- that the company does NOT recommend them for use this way. Even though there is NO warning about this on the website and you think you can hang pictures. Customer service told me there is teeny tiny print on the package saying not to use them to hang pictures. VERY inconvenient in my opinion. Why not state this up front?? I had a disaster on my hands when a picture fell crashing to the floor in the middle of the night! The way the hook is on the wall, the picture hangs with the bottom against the wall and the top slightly outboard. They said it places stress on the adhesive and eventually will pull away from the wall. Save yourself some heartache and use something else for pictures in frames!
Date published: 2013-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great solution to rental house isues These hooks were the answer for trying to hang curtains in a rental house where we didn't want to bore into the moulding around the windows. These windows already have enough issues with rotting wood and paint chipping, yet the Command Adhesive Hooks cleanly adhered to the flat portion of the moulding that is intact and allowed us to hang attractive curtains in several rooms in the house! Plus, we just moved out of our house of 12 years that we built, and I had used the Command Adhesive strips to hang a tapestry on the wall. When it came time to remove the hooks, the adhesive strips came EASILY off of the wall without any damage, and I'm reusing the same hooks in the house we're in now. Thanks for a great product, 3M!
Date published: 2011-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Large Hooks These hooks are great! I have a spot on my wall that for some reason will not let me hang a mirror on it, but really wanted to put a mirror there. I tried tons of other direct-to-mirror adhesives, but it kept falling off. Finally, I went with a couple of large hooks to hold the mirror in place. Something about the combination of Command Adhesive and the way a hook redirects the downforce of the mirror against the surface of the wall has miraculously allowed the mirror to stay up. The adhesive isn't coming undone, and the hooks are holding. Stubborn wall defeated!
Date published: 2010-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Large Hooks I recently purchased a motor home. It's extremely small. I plan to use it when I volunteer at a State Park in FL. I will be living in it year around. The biggest problem is there is little, to no storage space; and there is no solid wall to screw in for racks eg. places for wet towels, dogs leash, hats, wet jackets, etc. I was very pleased to find your product, which I can adhere to the interior surface of the RV. Otherwise, I would have been at a loss as to what to do with items and their placement. So glad you invented this adhesive type hook. Thanks a million.
Date published: 2011-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Garage Organization! These hooks are great for hanging my kitchen floor tools on the wall out in the garage. No ugly nail holes, either! My kitchen and garage are attached, so I just hung my Swiffer Wet Jet, Swiffer Sweeper, Broom, and Stick Vac on the wall within arm's reach of the garage/kitchen door. Now, they are no longer taking up space in my pantry-less kitchen and also not taking any room in the garage. The added bonus is that the Swiffer Wet Jet has a full tank and is on the heavy side, but that hook is holding on tight! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2013-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Large 17003 Hooks I use these hooks in many places. I supply the hooks for both of my daughter's homes. These hooks are used on the back of the kids bedroom doors to hang jackets, etc. on. They are extremely sturdy, I have seen backpacks (full of stuff, of course), heavy coats, etc. hanging on their doors. I also use them in the bathrooms to hang towels on. One neat place is near the shower or bath. They hang their towels on the hook so that when they get out of the shower the towel is right there. I like all Command hooks, but the large hooks are useful for many jobs.
Date published: 2011-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Took paint & drywall off wall I moved into a new office and "hung" my bulletin board using 3 of these. Less than a year later I tried to remove them and it took huge sections of paint and dry wall off.
Date published: 2015-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shower radio solution Some years ago, after we'd replaced old shower tiles with Corian, I needed a way to mount a new shower radio within the enclosure. I affixed a 3M Command Large Hook high onto the wall, hung from it an aluminum shower accessory shelf rack, and placed the shower radio on the new shelf. (I doubt that the water-resistant variety was even offered at that time; a least, I knew nothing about it.) Ever since, the Large Hook with Command have done the job perfectly, and, needless to say, never failed! And I do not expect them to. Bravo, 3M! And thanks.
Date published: 2011-01-04
  • y_2019, m_7, d_16, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_420
  • loc_en_US, sid_0388680, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_riteaid
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 57.97ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Specs
Height 6.75 inches
Width 3.88 inches
Depth 1.65 inches
Product Weight 5 lb
Unit Price $4.49 per EACH (on regular retail)
Name Command General Purpose Utility Hook - 1 ct
Available Online
Package Count 1
Restrictions 2.2 kg
Color White
Material/Finish Plastic
Model 17003
Indications Hanging things
Country of Manufacture United States
Ingredient Preference Made in the USA
Directions
1. Clean surface with isopropyl rubbing alcohol, wipe gently, let dry. Do not use household cleaners. Separate strips. 2. Press fasteners together until they snap. 3. Remove one red liner. Position one set of strips on back of frame, press firmly, repeat. Remove remaining red lines. 4. Position item on wall. Important: press each set firmly for 30 seconds. 5. Grab frame at bottom and peel off surface. Do not pull straight forward you to remove. Firmly press all 3 areas of each strip for 30 seconds each. 6. Wait 1 hour to mount frame. Press fasteners firmly together until they click. If item is not level, reposition. Tips: wait minimum 7 days after painting to hang frames. If there is paper backing on frame, remove to attach fastener directly to frame.
Safety
Do not use with wallpaper. May not adhere well to vinyl surfaces.