Item No. 8000465

Photo of Downy Fabric Softener, Ultra, April Fresh 34 fl oz (1.07 qt) 1.02 lt

Downy Ultra Liquid Fabric Conditioner, April Fresh - 34 fl oz

Price: $3.99

Member Savings (33% Off)

Was $5.99

Availability: Usually ships in 1 business day

Details

Downy April Fresh Liquid Fabric Conditioner softens, freshens, and protects.

  • Conditions to help prevent stretching, fading, and fuzz
  • Leaves long-lasting freshness
  • Softens fabrics
  • Reduces more wrinkles than detergent alone
  • Compatible with HE machines
Reviews
Downy Ultra Liquid Fabric Conditioner, April Fresh - 34 fl oz is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 1071.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do not like Fabric Protect! I have been using Downy April Fresh for as long as I have been doing laundry. I love the fresh smell of our clothes from using Downy. A few years ago, I was disappointed when the scent pearls were added and ruined the wonderful smell. Now, I just bought a new bottle of Downy with the new "fabric protect". After washing my first load of laundry I knew right away something was not right! The scent is not the same. It's very strong and unpleasant. I want the normal Downy April Fresh back! My clothes don't smell good anymore! Why change the scent of something that everyone loves so much?
Date published: 2015-10-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Let's make Downy great again! I've switched to another brand of liquid softener since the transition from the original Downy, through the scent bead migration, and now what can only be described as a joke product April Fresh with fabric protect. Oh and it's no longer fabric softener, it's fabric conditioner. What a waste of marketing. Let's make Downy great again America! Also either bad programming or skewing, i gave this product the one star it does not deserve and my android is turning it into four. liars.
Date published: 2017-01-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from New April Fresh Smell is Horrible! I have used Downy April Fresh fabric softener for years but since they added the Fabric Protect it smells too strong and powdery! I can't use it - please change it back. I've tried the freshness beads but they don't soften the clothes. For me and others to take the time to write a review on a fabric softener must tell you there is something wrong with the new product. Please change it back!!
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Awful new scent I've been using Downy Ultra for years and I was in love with the scent, it was very fresh and distinct from other brands. However when I bought some this week they had a new fabric protection feature which I thought was great. When I got home to use it, I was extremely disappointed by the new smell it had. Yes, it leaves our clothes really soft but with an awful smell. The new scent is similar to another brand which is called Suavitel or something similar. The smell is somehow acrid and very unpleasant. I really hope they were only the ones I bought this time.
Date published: 2015-11-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not the same! They RUINED the once wonderful smell I once LOVED April Fresh liquid fabric softener so very much... everything I washed smelled so amazing, like I never want to stop smelling it..... UNTIL RECENTLY! I don't know why Downy would change such an amazing smelling product... especially going to this HORRIBLE new smell! I will not be buying again unless they change it back. Plenty of others agree: http://reviews.downy.com/6032/ultra-downy-april-fresh-liquid/downy-ultra-downy-april-fresh-liquid-reviews/reviews.htm?sort=reviewTextLength PLEASE bring back the previous scent!!! Until then you have lost another customer!
Date published: 2015-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Downy Fresh! Ultra Downy Liquid fabric softener is the only fabric softener I use. I've tried to save a few pennies by buying cheaper competitor products but they're never the same quality. Ultra Downy April Fresh has a light clean scent that leaves even my heavy cottons soft. I also use it on my delicates and it leaves them in soft perfect condition. My only complaint is that it's more expensive than most fabric softners but I always try to buy when I have a coupon or its on sale. I received Downy Ultra Fabric Softner as a free gift for my review but I assure you that my opinions are entirely mine and I try my best to be as honest as I can be.
Date published: 2015-11-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from New formula is too strongly scented! I miss the old scent. This new formula that has been out for a while is too strong. I open my washer after doing a load of laundry and the smell literally smacks me in the face when I open the door. I shouldn’t be choking on fumes from my bedding when trying to sleep because the fabric softener is too overpowering. On a side note— as other reviewers have mentioned, my one star review is changed to a four star review after selecting “preview” before posting.
Date published: 2017-11-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from RIP April Fresh Downy A few years ago, Downy changed their beloved original April Fresh scent into some sickly, perfumy mess and I was devastated. However, they only changed the liquid, the dryer sheets still smelled like the original formula. I just got back from Dollar General and they now changed the scent of the dryer sheets too. WHY ON EARTH would they do this??? The original scent of April Fresh was loved by so many. Why wouldn't they just make a "new scent" and leave the beloved original scent available for purchase. Did a bunch of men in suits, who probably never did laundry themselves, make this decision?
Date published: 2015-03-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from PLEASE BRING BACK THE ORIGINAL DOWNEY I am devastated by the change in formulation of April Fresh Downey. Please bring back the original formulation! I have been using it loyally for over 20 years and my mother used it before me. No more Downey for this family until the original comes back. This new version is disgusting. It doesn't smell like the original. At first it was thick and clumped up my machine and now is very watery. The other day I spent 15 minutes at the store opening all the bottles looking for one containing the original formula. Not all changes are for the better. Where can I find some original?
Date published: 2015-01-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Will give 5 stars if original scent returns Been using Downy April Fresh for years-at least 35. My mom always used in our laundry and friends would complement me on how good my clothes smelled!! Please bring back the original scent!!! The new fragrance is too strong..smells like cologne, not fresh clean laundry. Product has also become too watery. Will definitely switch if original fragrance doesn't return...so sad!!!!!
Date published: 2016-01-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from What Happened To My April Fresh Scent?!?!?! I've been a faithful Downy user for more then 35 years and have always loved this product. Yesterday I opened a new bottle and was overwhelmed with the floral scent. I thought I had incorrectly purchased a scent other then original April Fresh Downy, but no I hadn't. Why has the scent changed? It still performs great on static, softness, and wrinkles, but the scent is so overbearing I'm unable to wear clothes that have been rinsed in it. Please bring back the tried and true original April Fresh scent we all have loved for years... From the reviews its very apparent I'm not the only one that feels this way. Let's hope P & G hears our pleas and brings back the scent we've all known and loved for decades. I'll keep checking reviews in the hope that the original scent returns, but until it does I won't be purchasing Downy again. So disappointed to say goodbye to a favorite product I've loved for years.
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Why did you change the April Fresh scent? I don't understand why you would change such a warm and comfortable sense memory. It was pleasant and it was "home". Now I find it overwhelming and not pleasant at all. Why must my fabric softener overwhelm my perfume. I don't want my fabric softener to become my perfume. The long lasting scent...really?! Please bring back the old scent and my memories of home. I only chose one star....had to....not three
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Smells I used to love this product, however since they had changed the smell I will no longer buy it. Since they have changed the product to protect it sinks. I did one load of laundry and all the clothes smell so bad. I had to wash 4 more time with draft to get the smell out and it still has a slight sink. I am so bummed out used to love this product. Talked with my sister in another state and she is having the same issue.
Date published: 2016-01-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from So disappointed in the way it smells I've been using Downy April Fresh for what feels like all of my life because I loved the smell of it. The last two bottles I purchased were not the same product. The fresh smell was missing, and I don't even like the way it smells any more. I will be looking for another product, and hopefully I will find something I liked as well as the one you had before you changed the formula.
Date published: 2016-08-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not liking the new scents of fabric softener. April fresh downy had been used by three generations of my family. I guess I was the last because nothing compares to the old April fresh. I used to love how my blankets smelled after hanging on the washline. The new scents stink and I no longer purchase Downy fabric softener. You had 3 generations of customer loyalty and you blew it.
Date published: 2016-08-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What Happen to Downy??? I always buy 4 or 5 bottles of Downy at a time. I thought there was just something wrong with the first bottle I used and was very negative when I used the 2nd and 3rd bottle. Apparently, it's all watered down now and the static in my clothes is horrible! I never buy any other fabric softener because how watered down they are. But, I guess I will try some of the other brands now. At least they aren't as expensive for their watered down fabric softener. It's hard to believe that something I have used my whole life is completely ruined now. It would have been nice to know before I bought 5 bottles. :(
Date published: 2015-01-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I hate the new smell! I am so disappointed that you changed the original scent. It has always been such a great and reliable product and I always was complemented on the smell of my house after washing clothes as well as my clothes. Now I hate the smell! There is nothing original about it!!
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Scent has changed I found this site because I was wondering if the scent had changed. Long time user of Downy and do not like the new scent at all and won't be using it unless it changes back.
Date published: 2016-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heaven in a Bottle Downy April Fresh Liquid Fabric Enhancer is literally a small piece of heaven in a bottle! I used it with both clothing and sheets. Unlike other fabric softeners I've tried in the past, the softener's smell lasts until the clothing or sheets next washing. I especially like washing my sheets with this. There's nothing better than going to bed with sheets that smell April Fresh every night. I have sensitive skin and this product has not caused any issues which is a huge bonus. From the sleek design to the long lasting smell, there's nothing I don't like about this product. I highly recommend!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2018-05-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Scent has changed I've used April fresh for as long as I can remember. I'm in my 30s. My mom used the same scent as long as I can remember also. BUT something is different. I thought the packaging looked different but didn't think anything of it. Then when I opened it- whoa! The scent was overpowering. Washing a load of clothes with it fills my entire 2 story 2700 sq ft house with the smell. I'm not exaggerating. I don't even fill my downy or detergent to the first line of the cup. I never have (a professor filled us in on that once-washes the same and makes the bottle last longer) but the scent is ridiculously strong still. Not only is it strong but it's altered. Please. Please. Please change April fresh back to the clean classic smell.
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smells like clean I love the smell of this product. As soon as you open the bottle, the smell of CLEAN just smacks you in the face. The good part about this is once you've washed your clothes, the smell is there, but it's extremely subtle. Which is a definite plus for me. I'm probably less impressed because I've never used fabric softeners, I've just never seen the purpose. I will say that I have only used this product once so far, so I may not have just given it enough of a chance. BUT, I am going to continue to use what's left in the bottle to allow it time to change my mind. At minimum, it smells amazing! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2018-05-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible new scent! I've always used April Fresh Downy, I just purchased a huge bottle and discovered that it has a new overpowering scent. It is absolutely awful!! I just threw the whole bottle away. Will never buy again.
Date published: 2016-02-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from You changed the scent .. New scent is awful Why did you change this product?? It stinks now.. I will never buy again! .... Unless you bring back old smell!
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from April fresh stinks! Scent is so strong I threw the whole bottle out. It's just like Original Gain. The infusion Downey products are also nasty. Thanks again P&G for allowing me to switch to something else. You're really batting 1000 at this point.
Date published: 2017-01-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible New Scent I used to LOVE the April Fresh scent. I don't know what was done, but the new scent is terrible! Please change it back! I truly hate to say this, but I am going to switch to another brand. I just can't stand the new smell!
Date published: 2016-02-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wouldn't recommend, period! I miss the old scent. I have used April Fresh for years and I do not like the new scent. It doesn't last as long and I will not recommend it. Sorry.....bring back the old scent.
Date published: 2016-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eliminates strong odors! I received a sample of this product for free from Influenster, in exchange for my honest review. I had a huge tub of clothes that I let sit for a couple of years. The clothes had been packed since we lived in an apartment whose previous tenant smoked like a chimney, so they were packed away already smelling bad and came out smelling worse. For the last year, I've washed items but they never stayed smelling good. The stale smoke smell always came back. One wash with our low-scent homemade detergent and this Downy product, and my favorite Christmas shirts smell totally normal again, and have stayed that way for a few weeks! I'm so thrilled!
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Please bring the original downy! I am a Korean. Since long ago, Downey's product has been loved by Korea. I also spent my childhood with Downey, and I loved Downey's fragrance. But now it doesn't smell like it used to be. Please come back to the old Downey it was loved by everyone!
Date published: 2017-09-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What did you do to the April Fresh scent?!? I really liked the April Fresh scent because it was not very overpowering. I grabbed a new bottle at the store and when I pulled my clothes out of the washer I was disappointed that they smelled different. My last bottle did not have the fabric protect and the new one does. I'm beginning to think that changed the scent... Either way, I'm very disappointed and will have to go back to my Downy free. I liked having just a touch of scent to my clothes and this is definitely not what I wanted.
Date published: 2015-10-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Can't get past the smell I have used the original April Fresh Downy for over 15 years and LOVED it. I would get compliments on how my laundry smelled. I absolutely HATE the new smell. Please change it back or at least offer it or I will be changing to a new softener.
Date published: 2016-08-25
  • y_2019, m_9, d_20, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_1064
  • loc_en_US, sid_8000465, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_riteaid
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 295.26ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Specs
Height 3.65 inches
Width 3.5 inches
Depth 12.7 inches
Product Weight 2.23 lb
Unit Price $3.76 per QUART (on regular retail)
Name Downy Ultra Liquid Fabric Conditioner, April Fresh - 34 fl oz
Available Online
Package Count 1
Container Type bottle
Model 35751
Indications Fabric softener
Country of Manufacture United States
Ingredient Preference Made in the USA
Directions

Shake it Then, pour to desired line.

Ingredients

Biodegradable Fabric Softening Agents (Cationic)

Safety

Liquid fabric conditioner can increase fabric flammability. Using more than recommended can increase this effect. Do not use this product: On children